Twelve 2020 IEC Memorial Scholarships Available

Illinois Electric Cooperative has announced that the Illinois electric cooperatives in 2020 will award eleven academic scholarships to high school seniors through a memorial scholarship fund designed to financially assist deserving students in the “electric cooperative family.”   In addition, a twelfth scholarship – to assist with costs in attending an electric lineworker school – will also be offered.

The total of twelve scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded in 2020 through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Six scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from the cooperative. A seventh scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. Four additional scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative members, employees or directors.

The twelfth annual scholarship, the “LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship,” is a $2,000 scholarship that will help pay for costs to attend the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill. Sons and daughters of co-op members; relatives of co-op employees or directors; and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible to apply for the lineworker’s scholarship. 

“We hope to assist electric cooperative youth while honoring past rural electric leaders with these scholarships,” says Bruce Giffin. “Illinois Electric and the other state electric cooperatives are always seeking ways to make a difference in our communities. One of the best ways we can do that is by helping our youth through programs like this one.  In addition, we are very pleased to offer the electric lineworker’s scholarship.  It will benefit not only electric cooperative youth but also those fine men and women who have served their country through their military service and may now be wanting to become a trained lineworker.”

For more information regarding the scholarships, contact the co-op at 217-742-3128. Information has also been shared with area high school guidance counselors.

To submit a scholarship application online and more details, please visit




DeadlddddddddddWhat is the LaVern and Nola McEntire  Lineworker’s Scholarship?


This  $2000  scholarship  will  help  pay  for costs  to attend  the  lineworker's school  conducted  by  the

Association  of  Illinois  Electric  Cooperative  (AIEC)  in  conjunction  with  Lincoln  Land  Community

College,  Springfield, IL.  It was awarded  for the first time in 2011.


Who is eligible  to receive  the scholarship?

One  scholarship  a  year  will  be  awarded  to  an  individual  who  is  related  to  a  rural  electric

cooperative  employee  or  director  in  the  State  of  Illinois;  or  is  the  son  or  daughter  of  an  electric

cooperative member  in  Illinois;  or  is  enrolled  in  the  Lincoln  Land  lineworker’s  school;  or

has served  or  is  serving  in  the  U.S.  armed  forces  or  National  Guard.  The  applicant  must  have  a

high  school  diploma  or  a  GED  at  the  time  the  scholarship  is  awarded.  (Please  see  the  "LaVern

and Nola McEntire  Lineworker's Scholarship Official Rules & Regulations"  sheet  for all eligibility